Saran division is an administrative geographical unit of Bihar. Chhapra is the administrative headquarters of the division. Currently the division consists of three districts namely Saran Siwan and Gopalganj.

    In ancient days , Modern Saran Division, formed a part of KOSALA country. The history of Saran Division is bound to be history of Kosala which included portions other than present limit of Saran Division. The kingdom of Kosala was bounded on the west by Panchala, by the river Sarpika(sai) in the south, on the east by Gandak and on the north by Nepal . The Kosala consisted of modern Faizabad, Gonda, Basti, Gorkhapur, Deoria in UP and Saran in Bihar.